Published On: Sun, Aug 2nd, 2015

Rolls-Royce appoints Alan Davis as non-executive director

Rio Tinto chief executive Alan Davis has been appointed non-executive director of the board of Rolls-Royce and member of the Nominations and Governance Committee, and Audit Committee, effective from 1 November 2015.

Currently chief executive of Australian-British mining giant Rio Tinto’s Diamonds and Minerals division, he has also served as CFO, MD of global development and president of international oprations since joining the company in 1997.

Ian Davis, Rolls-Royce, Chairman, said: “I am delighted that Alan Davies will be joining us as a non-executive director. He brings a wealth of leadership experience including transforming operational performance and driving cultural change through a complex global organisation. He has deep knowledge of China and other key emerging markets. Alan’s appointment also adds further expertise in finance, safety and operations to the Rolls-Royce Board. I am looking forward to working with him.”

Part of a number of recent appointment announcements, the news comes only weeks after the British manufacturer announced its largest ever order for Trent 900 Engines had been placed by Emirates Airlines, valued at $9.2bn. Rolls-Royce clients comprise more than 380 airlines and leasing customers, 160 armed forces, 4,000 marine customers including 70 navies, and more than 5,000 power and nuclear customers.

At a glance: Rolls Royce appointments

Warren East – stepped down from the Audit Committee, the Nominations and Governance Committee and the Science and Technology Committee on 2 July 2015, before taking up his appointment as Chief Executive on 3 July 2015.

Irene Dorner – as announced in February 2015, will join the Board as a non-executive director of the company on 27 July 2015 and will become a member of the Nominations and Governance Committee, and the Safety and Ethics Committee. Further to that announcement, she also became a member of the Audit Committee from 27 July 2015 joining Lewis Booth (chair of the committee) and Lee Hsien Yang.

About the Author

Web Development CompanyTechyPros